• Un matin d'août 1995, Daniel Hardesty, douze ans, et son père Fran, qu'il n'a pas vu beaucoup depuis la séparation de celui-ci d'avec sa mère, prennent la route pour le nord de l'Angleterre. Un road-trip qui représente une chance de resserrer leurs liens. Fran, qui travaille sur les décors d'une série télévisée, L'Artifex, dont Daniel est fan, lui a promis de lui faire visiter les studios à Leeds. Cependant, plus les kilomètres défilent, plus les mensonges et le désespoir de Fran se dévoilent au grand jour, le poussant à des actes d'une violence inouïe.
    Ce nouveau roman de Benjamin Wood sur les liens entre pères et fils, sur la réconciliation avec ce que l'on est et ce que l'on deviendra, est éblouissant d'intelligence, de tendresse et de beauté. Il met en lumière, sans jugement, les paradoxes des sentiments et montre comment les hommes apprennent à vivre avec leurs ombres.

  • Cambridge, de nos jours. Au détour d'une allée du campus, Oscar est attiré par la puissance de l'orgue et des chants provenant de la chapelle de King's College. Subjugué, il ne peut maîtriser un sentiment d'extase. Premier rouage de l'engrenage. Dans l'assemblée, une jeune femme capte son attention. Iris n'est autre que la soeur de l'organiste virtuose, Eden Bellwether, dont la passion exclusive pour la musique baroque s'accompagne d'étranges conceptions sur son usage hypnotique...
    Un premier roman magistral sur les frontières du génie et de la folie, entre thriller et roman d'apprentissage.

  • 1972. Sur l'île de Heybeliada, au large d'Istanbul, le refuge de Portmantle accueille des artistes qui ont besoin de se ressourcer. Knell, talentueuse peintre écossaise, y vit depuis une dizaine d'années quand son quotidien est chamboulé par l'arrivée de Fullerton, un jeune homme instable, qu'on retrouve bientôt noyé dans sa baignoire. Cet événement oblige Knell à considérer d'un oeil différent ce lieu régi par des lois singulières, et l'amène à replonger dans son passé, en Écosse tout d'abord puis dans le Londres des sixties.
    Une exploration fascinante et hypnotique de la création artistique, de l'inspiration et de la frontière, incroyablement fragile, entre réalité et illusion.

  • Grand format N.C.
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
  • An unforgettable debut from an outstanding new talent.

    Poche N.C.
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Bright, bookish Oscar Lowe has escaped the urban estate where he was raised and made a new life for himself amid the colleges and spires of Cambridge. He has grown to love the quiet routine of his life as a care assistant at a local nursing home, where he has forged a close friendship with the home's most ill-tempered resident, Dr. Paulsen. But when he meets and falls in love with Iris Bellwether, a beautiful and enigmatic medical student at King's College, Oscar is drawn into her world of scholarship and privilege, and soon becomes embroiled in the strange machinations of her brilliant but troubled brother, Eden, who believes he can adapt the theories of a forgotten Baroque composer to heal people with music. Eden's self-belief knows no bounds, and as he draws his sister and closed circle of friends into a series of disturbing experiments to prove himself right, Oscar realises the extent of the danger facing them all...

    Grand format N.C.
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • From the award-winning author of The Bellwether Revivals comes a "gorgeous and harrowing work" (Emily St. John Mandel) set on a mysterious island, where artists strive to recover their lost gifts--and where nothing is quite as it seems.
    Situated on a Turkish island, Portmantle might be the strangest, most exclusive artists' colony around. Its brilliant residents linger for years, all expenses paid and living under assumed names. Relieved of the burdens of time and ego, they are free to create their next masterpieces.
    Elspeth Conroy (aka "Knell") is a Scottish painter who has been at Portmantle for a decade, a refugee from the hectic London art scene. Her fellow longtimers include Quickman, whose sole book became a classic and paralyzed his muse; MacKinney, a playwright who left behind her family; and Pettifer, an architect obsessing over an unfinished cathedral. In his astonishing second novel, Benjamin Wood gives us “an intensely intimate portrait of an artist as a young woman, with truths on every page” (Independent).
    The hermetic world at Portmantle shatters when the 17-year-old Fullerton arrives at the gates, his provenance and talents unknown. As Knell searches for answers, she reveals the path that led her to this place: Her intimate bond with her gruff drunk of a mentor; her early successes and crushing failures; a journey across the Atlantic and into the psychiatrist's office; and a grand commission of astronomical significance.
    What is "The Ecliptic," and how does it relate to the life Elspeth left behind? This gorgeous puzzle of a novel touches the head and the heart, and the effect is nothing short of electrifying.
    From the Hardcover edition.

  • Part Secret History, part Brideshead Revisited for the 21st century, The Bellwether Revivals is a pageturning, romantic, eerie tale of genius and, possibly, madness; a stunning debut for fans of Sarah Waters, Donna Tartt, and Lauren Goff.
    yes'>#160;
    The Bellwether Revivals opens and closes with bodies. The story of whose bodies and how they come to be spread about an elegant house on the river near Cambridge is told by Oscar, a young, bright working class man who has fallen in love with an upperclass Cambridge student, Iris, and thereby become entangled with a group of close friends, led by Iris's charismatic, brilliant, possibly dangerous brother. For Eden Bellwether believes he can heal and perhaps more through the power of music.
    yes'>#160;
    In this masterful debut, we too are seduced by this gilded group of young people, entranced by Eden's powerful personality and his obvious talent as a musician, and caught off guard by the strangeness of Iris and Eden's parents. And we find ourselves utterly unsure as to whether Eden Bellweather is a saviour or a villain, and whether Oscar will be able to solve this mystery in time to save himself, if not everyone else.
    From the Hardcover edition.

  • *Finalist for the Costa First Novel Award*
    *Shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers Prize*
    From a rising literary star, a thrilling debut novel of psychological suspense set among the colleges of Cambridge
    When bright and bookish Oscar Lowe follows the haunting sound of an organ into the chapel of Kings College, Cambridge, one day, his whole world changes. He meets a beautiful and seductive medical student, Iris Bellwether, and her charismatic and troubled brother Eden. Oscar is seduced by their life of scholarship and privilege, but when Eden convinces Iris and her close-knit group of friends to participate in a series of disturbing experiments, Oscar fears he has entered into something from which he cannot escape. Reminiscent of Donna Tartt's The Secret History, The Bellwether Revivals is a gripping exploration of the line between genius and madness that will hold readers spellbound until its breathtaking conclusion.

empty